Catherine Parra is a French artist, residing and working in Barcelona.

 

One day she stumbled with amazement upon a monumental work featuring a page from a notebook, its lines filled with calligraphic characters, some of them crossed out. The sheer enormity of the piece,

the words and their corrections, visible but openly accepted errors, inspired her first paintings.

 

Her style, at the crossroads between lyrical abstraction, expressionism and art brut, is inspired by Miro, Le Corbusier, 60´s and 70´s designs and colours, Africa, cheerful batik prints, textile fashions, and that vintage Hermès red…

 

The artist gives special emphasis to the narration of her intimacy and to the exploration of the strangeness of everyday life. By taking mundane objects and placing them onto her monumental formats, she removes their intended significance from their original form. Lines are flexible, ethnic and primitive, devoid of any objectual representative association. Purified shapes stand out from the background and simply exist without spatial reference or perspective. The geometry of volumes finds its balance in spatial construction, with a subtle toing and froing between colours and shapes. The chromatic scale vibrates with the supremacy of intrinsically potent colours. They are raw, vintage, explosive and complementary, burning like Africa, contrasting with the brute force of the omnipresent black. The whole composition conveys harmony, coherence and rhythm, pulsed by an instinctive and primal movement that projects us into a joyous and generous universe that is both organic and full of life.

 

Catherine’s ribbon tracing technique is specific to all her work, often with surprising results and imperfections, one-time errors that are expected and cherished by the artist. The painting surface is a thick washed linen, a lively, used material that brings out the shine of colours and reconnects the artist with her former experiences in the textile industry and with her passion for fabrics.

 

Catherine is interested in exploring the inner mechanisms of the human psyche and the intellectual workings of the unconscious mind. The outcome is a transcription of her emotional state at a given moment, an altered state during which her unconscious mind can materialise on canvas. While painting, the artist feels the total spontaneity of creation through the outpouring of the unconscious. In her paintings, she gives free rein to a poetical language expressing joy, freedom, softness, humour and generosity… A language that speaks to our doubts, certainties and frustrations, but which also addresses more universal themes such as resilience, legacy and immortality.

Catherine Parra est une artiste française, elle vit et travaille à Barcelone...

 

Un jour, elle s'émerveille en découvrant une oeuvre gigantestque représentant une feuille de cahier, avec ses lignes calligraphiées et couvertes de ratures. La monumentalisation de l’objet, les mots, et les corrections, erreurs visibles mais assumées, inspirent ses premières toiles.

 

 

Son style, à la croisée des chemins entre abstraction lyrique, art brut et expressionnisme, s'inspire de Miro, Le Corbusier, du design et des couleurs des années 60 et 70, de l’Afrique, de la gaîté des imprimés Batik, de la mode textile, du rétro d’un rouge Hermès...

 

 

L'accent est mis sur l'aspect narratif de l’intimité, sur l’exploration de l’étrangeté du quotidien, Catherine le monumentalise, en le dénudant de sa signification. Les lignes sont souples, ethniques, primitives, sans référence associative à quelconque modèle objectual. Les formes, purifiées, se détachent du fond et se définissent sans indication spatiale ni perspective. La géométrie des volumes s’équilibre dans la construction de l‘espace codifié, avec un jeu de rappels subtils et humoristiques de couleurs ou de formes. La gamme chromatique vibre grâce à la préeminence des couleurs, à leur force intrinsèque ; elles sont franches, rétro, explosives et complémentaires, brûlantes comme l'Afrique, contrastées par un noir omniprésent et brutal. L’ensemble libère sur la toile harmonie, cohérence et rythme dans un mouvement instinctif et primaire, et nous projette dans un univers joyeux, généreux, organique et vital.

 

 

La technique du tracé, sous forme de pochoir au ruban, est spécifique à l’ensemble de son oeuvre, elle réserve des surprises, des imperfections et des erreurs irréproductibles, attendues et voulues par l’artiste. Le support est en grand format, en épaisse toile de lin lavé, matière vivante et travaillée, qui apporte une grande luminosité aux couleurs et qui connecte l’artiste avec ses origines dans l’industrie textile, avec sa passion pour les matières.

 

 

Catherine explore la représentation des mécanismes de l'esprit, son intérêt se porte sur les opérations intellectuelles de l'inconscient. Le résultat est une écriture de son état émotionnel à un moment donné, un état second pendant lequel l'inconscient se matérialise sur la toile. Au moment de peindre, l’artiste expérimente la spontanéité totale de la création à travers la force de l'inconscient. Elle projette sur sa toile un langage poétique qui exprime tour à tour la joie, la liberté, la douceur, l’humour, la générosité... un langage qui lui permet d’établir un dialogue sur nos doutes, nos certitudes ou nos frustrations, mais aussi d’aborder des thèmes plus universels, tels que la résilience, l’héritage et l’immortalité.

Catherine Parra © 2023 Catherine Parra